NASA awards researchers $1.7M grant to develop tools to help Florida water utilities allocate resources

Florida State climate experts and their collaborators will use NASA Earth Science satellite and modeling products to provide actionable, localized climate information to regional water utilities in order to aid them as they make critical decisions about water resource allocation.

Modern economic theory explains prehistoric Mediterranean societies

A Florida State University professor’s research suggests a theory by famed economist Thomas Piketty on present-day wealth inequality actually explains a lot about how smaller-scale societies in the prehistoric Mediterranean developed.

FSU WWII Institute to host renowned author in recognition of 75th anniversary of D-Day

In anticipation of the 75th anniversary of D-Day, Florida State University’s Institute on World War II and the Human Experience welcomes New York Times best-selling author Alex Kershaw to Tallahassee for a presentation based on his recent book “The First Wave: The D-Day Warriors Who Led the Way to Victory in World War II.”

Florida State's spring commencement ceremonies set for May 3, 4

Florida State will award degrees to more than 6,500 graduates: 5,416 bachelor’s degrees, 918 master’s degrees and 225 doctorates. The university will recognize students and student-veterans who have earned academic honors, including induction into the Garnet and Gold Scholar Society. President John Thrasher will preside over the four ceremonies.

FSU’S Garnet and Gold Scholar Society honors more than 300 new inductees

Since 2010, the Garnet and Gold Scholar Society has encouraged student involvement and recognized undergraduate students who excel within and beyond the classroom in at least three of five areas: international experience, internship, leadership, research and service.

FSU doctoral student receives prestigious philosophy award

Florida State University doctoral student Marshall Thompson has won the Marc Sanders Prize in Philosophy of Religion for his essay on the value of virtues, such as courage, in heaven.

Student Spotlight: Ashley Dawdy

Ashley Dawdy is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in biological science within the Department of Biological Science, a part of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Collaboration cultivates cross-disciplinary environmentalism

Environmental science student Allison Perez is getting her feet wet. No, not literally, but she is getting valuable experience in her field prior to graduation through her work with an interdisciplinary organization, Florida State University’s Sustainable Campus.

Student Spotlight: David Advent

David Advent is a senior pursuing a double major in English Literature and International Affairs. English Literature is housed in the College of Arts and Sciences and International Affairs is part of the College of Social Sciences and Public Policy.

Carnegie Observatories’ Mark Phillips shares knowledge as Wyatt-Green visiting scholar

Phillips was also a member of the 2011 team that received the Nobel Prize in Physics and has won the Gruber Foundation prize for cosmology and the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics.

FSU religion professor receives respected humanities fellowship

Elizabeth Cecil, assistant professor of religion and a trained historian, was one of 10 researchers from across the country to be selected as a 2019Getty/ACLS Postdoctoral Fellow.

Chemistry professor, MagLab scientist named 2019-20 Lawton Distinguished Professor

An accomplished chemist who has helped steer the direction of chemical and biological research at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory has been named Florida State University’s 2019-2020 Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor.