Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professors

The Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor award is the highest honor that Florida State University faculty can bestow on a colleague. This award was first presented in 1957-1958 and was known as the Distinguished Professor award until 1981, when it was renamed in honor of the late Vice President for Academic Affairs Robert O. Lawton. At that time, past recipients also were designated Lawton Distinguished Professors.

Faculty members within FSU’s College of Arts and Sciences who have been named as Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professors are as follows:

Year               Recipient                    Department

1957-58                     William Hudson Rogers                 English

1958-59                     Marian Doris Irish                            Government

1959-60                     Anna Forbes Liddell                       Philosophy

1960-61                     Ernest Max Grunwald                     Chemistry

1962-63                     Michael Kasha                                 Chemistry

1963-64                     Dorothy Hoffman                             Modern Languages

1966-67                     Raymond K. Sheline                       Chemistry

1967-68                     Gregory R. Choppin                                    Chemistry

1969-70                     Earl Frieden                                      Chemistry

1970-71                     Ralph Allan Bradley                        Statistics

1971-72                     Lloyd Mumbauer Beidler               Biological Science

1972-73                     Kellogg Wesley Hunt                      English

1973-74                     I. Richard Savage                            Statistics

1974-75                     Daniel Ralph Kenshalo                  Psychology

1977-78                     Richard L. Rubenstein                   Religion

1978-79                     Seymour L. Hess                             Meteorology

1979-80                     George M. Harper                           English

1980-81                     Harry M. Walborsky                         Chemistry

1981-82                     Robert Gilmer                                   Mathematics

1983-84                     J. Herbert Taylor                              Biological Science

1984-85                     Leo Mandelkern                              Chemistry

1984-85                     Frank Proschan                               Statistics

1985-86                     T.N. Krishnamurti                             Meteorology

1986-87                     Daniel Simberloff                             Biological Science

1987-88                     Werner Herz                                                 Chemistry

1989-90                     Richard L. Greaves                                     History

1990-91                     Donald Robson                               Physics

1991-92                     Imre Friedmann                               Biological Science

1992-93                     James C. Smith                                Psychology

1993-94                     Jayaram Sethuraman                     Statistics

1994-95                     Kurt G. Hofer                                     Biological Science

1995-96                     Janet G. Burroway                           English

1996-97                     Joseph Travis                                   Biological Science

1997-98                     De Witt Sumners                              Mathematics

1998-99                     Myles Hollander                              Statistics

1999-00                     James J. O'Brien                              Meteorology and Oceanography

2000-01                     Christopher Tam                              Mathematics

2001-02                     Nancy H. Marcus                             Oceanography

2002-03                     Kirby W. Kemper                              Physics

2003-04                     David Kirby                                       English

2006-07                     Alan G. Marshall                              Chemistry and Biochemistry

2007-08                     Walter Tschinkel                              Biological Science

2008-09                     Stanley Gontarski                            English

2009-10                     Richard K. Wagner                         Psychology

2010-11                     Thomas E. Joiner                            Psychology

2012-13                     Naresh S. Dalal                               Chemistry and Biochemistry

2014-15                     Mark A. Riley                                    Physics

2015-16                     Max D. Gunzburger                         Scientific Computing

2016-17                     Joseph B. Schlenoff                        Chemistry and Biochemistry