Alan Marshall is among first inductees to American Chemical Society Fellows Program

Chemist Alan Marshall has been named to the first group of fellows by the American Chemical Society (ACS) -- the only person in Florida to receive this distinction. While the American Physical Society has had a fellows program for decades, the ACS Fellows Program, with its 162 inductees that were announced in July 2009, is brand new. According to the ACS, its Fellows Program will eventually include about 1%-2% of the society’s 154,000 members.

Marshall is widely recognized for his pioneering work in chemical analysis, specifically the co-invention and development of Fourier transform ion cyclotron resonance mass spectrometry (FT-ICR-MS), which has applications that range from medical to environmental to industrial. “Without Marshall’s developments, FT-ICR-MS would have remained a useful laboratory technique and could not have become the routine method of general fundamental and strategic applicability that it now is,” said Harold Kroto, Eppes Professor of Chemistry and winner of the 1996 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. Marshall is Robert O. Lawton Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Florida State University and director of the Ion Cyclotron Resonance Program at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory. In recent years, he has garnered other major honors, including the 2009 New Frontiers in Hydrocarbons Award, which is sponsored by Italian energy company Eni; the 2008 Ralph and Helen Oesper Award from the Cincinnati section of the American Chemical Society; and the 2007 Chemical Pioneer Award from the American Institute of Chemists. To read more, visit